Becoming a Legal North Dakota Resident | VideoAmy Fox | 7/11/2012
"The policy is if you live here or work here, even temporarily, we require that you license your vehicle here,” said Minot Motor Vehicle Office Manager Carla Vannett. "There is a temporary registration that you can obtain or you can actually transfer to have a North Dakota license plate."
As Varnnett explains, even with a larger population, the state is still implementing the law.
"What we have heard is law enforcement is out enforcing this policy, so everyone does need registration and titling here or at least a temporary registration while they`re here."
In addition to getting a new license plate, you`ll also need a new driver’s license.
"Someone is deemed a North Dakota resident when they`ve been living in the state 90 consecutive days," said Minot Drivers License Examiner Melanie Axdah. "After that, commercial drivers license holders have 30 days to transfer their license to North Dakota. And, regular car drivers license need to be changed over 60 days after they become a North Dakota resident."
During your 60 day period, you`ll need to provide the License Branch with several documents.
"They need to bring something that establishes their name, date of birth, and legal presence. As well as their out of state driver license,” said Axdah.
But, as Minot License Branch Area Supervisor Shelby Larson warns, don`t let the two departments confuse you.
"Drivers license is on one end, motor vehicles on another end. Two complete different offices with two different hours."
A standard driver`s license costs $15. The price for license plates varies depending on the year and weight of your vehicle.
For more information about how to renew your license online or apply for a temporary license, go to dot.nd.gov.